Celia Disease And Balancing Your Diet

Celiac disease: A balanced diet for your greatest benefit

CELIAC DISEASE – is an immune system disorder in which an individual cannot consume foods containing gluten. The gluten as stated it would cause harm and damage the small intestine. If you are diagnosed as a celiac patient you must follow a strict diet that completely excludes foods with gluten. However, you are not obliged to follow a boring diet, since today there are many foods that can replace gluten-containing foods.

Here are some of the do’s and don’ts if you are a celiac patient, or have a family member or friend that suffers with this disorder.


Do’s

Always remember that CELIAC DISEASE does not prevent you from eating a varied diet.

  • You can eat healthy foods such as fruits, vegetables, chicken, fish, beef, eggs, milk, cheese, soy, legumes, butter, margarine and vegetables.
  • You can drink natural infusions such as tea and coffee.
  • You can drink soda.
  • You can season your meals with salt, oil and vinegar.
  • You can consume sugar, honey and gluten-free yeast.
  • You must consult before consuming the following foods: canned foods, any type of cold cuts, candies, instant tea, instant coffee, pâté, nougat.
  • You should get into the habit of reading the labels on the food you buy. If some labels do not explain well the content of those foods, do not buy them or consult in the store. On the other hand, you can buy a food whose label says: “Suitable for celiacs”.

Don’ts

You should avoid foods containing gluten forever. You know that if you consume them you will suffer stomach pain, vomiting, diarrhea, problems in your menstruation, abdominal swelling, etc.

Here are all the things you should NOT do.

  • Do not consume the following foods: foods based on wheat, barley, oats and rye. Therefore you should not eat bread, pasta, crackers, cookies, pasta soup.
  • Do not drink infusions made from cereals: beer, barley water, malt.
  • Do not eat soup pasta or wheat semolina.
  • Do not buy food if it does not have a specific label that says: “Does not contain gluten”.
  • Do not eat chocolate unless it has been adapted for celiac patients. This information is specified on the package.

Dietary Alternatives

CELIAC DISEASE – does not limit your diet to an unvaried diet.

You can consume carbohydrates if you prepare meals based on potato flour instead of wheat flour. Potato flour allows you to cook pizza, homemade bread and cookies, among other examples.

Chickpea flour is also an effective replacement for wheat, oat or rye flour. You can also incorporate other gluten substitutes into your diet: buckwheat, cassava, chickpeas, quinoa and brown rice.

Just remember that this is an initial guide for those who are seeking more information on their dietary needs as a persons diagnosed with Celiac disease. It is always advisable to continuously seek out the advice of your nutritionist and personal medical doctor. Maybe if you are also a person diagnosed with Celiac Disease – you can easily share with us here – and our readers and subscribers tips on how to cope.


subscribe, ,